Visure Solutions

Start Free Trial

Understanding the Area of Processes for Capability Maturity Model Integration (CMMI)

Understanding the Area of Processes for Capability Maturity Model Integration (CMMI)

Table of Contents


The Capability Maturity Model Integration (CMMI) is a globally recognized framework for process improvement, designed to help organizations enhance their capability to deliver high-quality products and services consistently. Developed by the Software Engineering Institute (SEI) at Carnegie Mellon University, CMMI provides a structured approach to assessing and improving an organization’s processes. CMMI encompasses various areas of processes, each contributing to specific aspects of organizational maturity and performance.

The CMMI Framework and its Areas of Processes

CMMI is structured into five maturity levels, each reflecting a higher degree of process maturity and organizational performance. At each level, specific process areas are addressed, and organizations can tailor their improvement efforts to suit their unique needs and objectives. The five maturity levels are:

Level 1 – Initial

The initial level represents the starting point for an organization’s process improvement journey. At this stage, processes are often ad hoc, poorly defined, and unpredictable, leading to inconsistent results. The focus at this level is primarily on understanding the organization’s process capabilities and defining the basic practices required for project execution.

Process Areas at Level 1:

  • Process Management (OPM): Establishing and maintaining a basic process management infrastructure to oversee and control projects.

Level 2 – Managed

The managed level marks a significant step forward in process maturity, where projects are planned and executed using defined processes. The emphasis is on establishing institutionalized processes that are repeatable and can be consistently applied across different projects.

Process Areas at Level 2:

  • Requirements Management (REQM): Eliciting, documenting, and managing requirements throughout the project’s lifecycle.
  • Project Planning (PP): Developing and maintaining comprehensive project plans, considering scope, resources, schedules, and risks.
  • Project Monitoring and Control (PMC): Tracking project progress and performance against plans, identifying and addressing deviations.
  • Supplier Agreement Management (SAM): Managing supplier relationships and agreements to ensure quality and timely delivery of goods and services.

Level 3 – Defined

At the defined level, organizations have a well-established set of standard processes that are followed consistently across the organization. There is a focus on process standardization and documentation, promoting a culture of process improvement and ensuring that processes are tailored to meet specific project needs.

Process Areas at Level 3:

  • Organizational Process Focus (OPF): Defining and maintaining a standard process framework that aligns with organizational goals and objectives.
  • Organizational Process Definition (OPD): Developing and maintaining detailed process documentation and process assets.
  • Organizational Training (OT): Providing training and resources to ensure that the workforce is competent in using defined processes.
  • Integrated Project Management (IPM): Integrating project planning and execution activities to achieve project objectives effectively.

Level 4 – Quantitatively Managed

The quantitatively managed level involves quantitative understanding and control of processes. Organizations at this level use statistical and other quantitative techniques to manage and improve their processes proactively.

Process Areas at Level 4:

  • Quantitative Project Management (QPM): Collecting and analyzing quantitative data to make informed decisions about project management.
  • Organizational Process Performance (OPP): Collecting and analyzing process performance data to identify process improvements.

Level 5 – Optimizing

The optimizing level represents the highest degree of process maturity. Organizations at this level continuously improve their processes based on a thorough understanding of performance data and innovative ideas.

Process Areas at Level 5:

  • Organizational Innovation and Deployment (OID): Identifying and incorporating innovative process improvements to enhance overall organizational performance.
  • Causal Analysis and Resolution (CAR): Identifying the root causes of defects and other problems to prevent their recurrence and improve overall process performance.


The Capability Maturity Model Integration (CMMI) provides a structured and systematic approach to process improvement, allowing organizations to enhance their capabilities, quality, and performance. The five maturity levels and associated process areas guide organizations in their journey toward higher process maturity and improved project outcomes. By understanding and implementing the areas of processes outlined by CMMI, organizations can achieve greater efficiency, consistency, and competitiveness in their industry.

Don’t forget to share this post!


Streamlining Requirements Management and Validation

July 11th, 2024

10 am EST | 4 pm CET | 7 am PST

Louis Arduin

Louis Arduin

Senior Consultant, Visure Solutions

Thomas Dirsch

Senior Software Quality Consultant, Razorcat Development GmbH

An Integrated Approach with Visure Solutions and Razorcat Development TESSY

Learn how to streamline requirements management and validation for the best outcomes.